The Grill

This weekend was my nephews 6th birthday. So I pulled the grill out and cooked burgers and hot dogs. The kids had fun with water balloons and playing in the sprinklers. It took us three tries to get it lit and stay lit. On the third try my sister, sister in law and I decided we needed Nard needed to step in and keep the grill lit. It stayed lit. Burned for hours.

It was bittersweet….

It took Nard a whole weekend to build that grill. He and his cousin built it from sheets of metal. I remember thinking, There is NO way we will need that much grill space. Heck that grill was always full of meat. Many weekends full of family and fun and of course the food.

In a few weeks, I am going to buy some ribs, and try to make them myself. It will be a part of the process of moving on.

One thought on “The Grill

Leave a Reply

